San Diego Motorcycle Accident Attorneys
Without seatbelts, bumpers, crush zones or other vehicular safety features, a motorcycle leaves its rider exposed to injury in even the slightest accident.
At Coast Law Group we know how devastating – physically, emotionally, and financially – a motorcycle accident can be. Our attorneys have extensive experience helping motorcycle clients recover full and fair compensation for injuries and other damages sustained due to the negligence of others.
Laws Every Motorcyclist Should Know:
California requires all motorcyclists to obtain a learner’s permit before applying for a license. Riders who are under the age of 21 must hold a permit for at least six months before they can apply for a license.
All learners permit applicants must pass a vision exam, skills test, and a knowledge test that covers information found in the California Motorcycle Handbook. Applicants under the age of 21 must also pass a California Motorcyclist Safety Program training course administered by the California Highway Patrol.
Permits are valid for 12 months after they are issued, and they prohibit motorcycle drivers from doing any of the following:
- Carrying passengers
- Driving on the freeway
- Driving at night
Helmet and Safety Laws:
California law requires a variety of rider and motorcycle safety equipment:
- California Vehicle Code (CVC) 27803 requires motorcycle drivers and riders to wear helmets at all times. The helmet must be in compliance with standards set by the U.S. Department of Transportation.
- Motorcycles must be equipped with right and left mirrors, per CVC 26709.
- Handlebars may not be installed in such a position that puts the driver’s hands more than six inches above his or her shoulder height as he or she is sitting on the seat, according to CVC 27801.
- Working turn signals, both front and rear, are required for all motorcycles built and first registered on January 1, 1973, or later.
Lane Splitting and Land Sharing
Lane splitting occurs when a motorcyclist maneuvers between two lanes of traffic to get around vehicles. In 2016 California passed a law legalizing this practice on the states roadways.
Other California laws are designed to protect riders when they are lane splitting. CVC 22400 prohibits motorists from driving at a speed so slow that it impedes reasonable movement of traffic, unless it is necessary for safety. CVC 22517 makes it illegal for motorists to open vehicle doors unless it is reasonably safe to do so and will not interfere with the movement of traffic.
California does not have a specific restriction against lane sharing, which occurs when two motorcyclists ride side-by-side in a single lane of traffic.
California has no law setting an age restriction for passengers on motorcycles. This means that people of any age may ride on a motorcycle as a passenger. However, California law requires that passenger seats must be securely fastened to the motorcycle behind the driver’s seat. Passengers must have footrests in place and used while the motorcycle is in motion.
When a motorcycle accident happens and you are not at fault, it’s critical for you to have experienced attorneys on your side. Get a hold of us today at (760) 942-8505 to get the process started.
Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
Motorcyclists are required to carry minimum amounts of liability insurance:
- $5,000 for property damage
- $15,000 for bodily injury to an individual
- $30,000 for bodily injuries to multiple victims
In California if a motorcyclist is involved in an accident and does not carry the minimum amounts of insurance coverage, he or she may face a one-year driver’s license suspension.
Damages You Can Recover:
If you are injured in a motorcycle or scooter accident and suffered injuries and damages, you may be entitled to recovery, depending on who is responsible for the crash. If the accident is completely your fault, you may be liable for the other party’s damages. If the accident is totally or partially the other party’s fault, you should be able to recover some or all of the following damages:
- Property loss
- Medical expenses
- Wage loss (past and future)
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of enjoyment of life
- Loss of consortium (marital support and services)
The amount of recovery will depend on your injuries, the percentage of fault attributed to the other party, and the presence of insurance. The importance of insurance cannot be overstated — you need it to get more than the most basic compensation.
If you’re involved in a motorcycle accident due to someone else’s negligence or carelessness, contact the attorneys at COAST LAW GROUP today. We provide knowledgeable representation to accident victims throughout the San Diego area.
We are Here
Our team at Coast Law Group will thoroughly review your case, independently investigate the accident, and, if retained, formulate strategy to maximize your compensation. Don’t delay, please call us today at (760) 942-8505.